Temporary visa exemption for 4 countries to begin June 1


What is the change? A temporary visa exemption for nationals of Australia, Canada, Japan and the United States will go into effect starting June 1 ahead of the Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro.

What does the change mean? From June 1 to Sept. 18, nationals of the four countries may visit Brazil for tourist purposes without a visa for stays of up to 90 days.

  • Implementation time frame: June 1 to Sept. 18.

  • Visas/permits affected: Visa exemption.

  • Who is affected: Nationals of Australia, Canada, Japan and the U.S.

  • Impact on processing times: The waiver will temporarily eliminate visa processing for affected nationals.

  • Business impact: Business activities are not permitted on the visa waiver. Anyone intending to conduct business, work, study or engage in other nontourist activities must apply for an appropriate visa at a Brazilian consulate.

Background: The government announced in January that visas would be temporarily lifted for the four countries to promote tourism before and during the Olympic Games. Eligible nationals will not need to apply for a visitor visa at a consulate and will instead have their passports stamped upon arrival. Individuals competing in the Olympics are not eligible for the visa waiver.

BAL Analysis: Travelers are reminded that the visa exemption should only be used by individuals who are traveling to Brazil for tourist purposes, not for business or other activities, and that it is valid for the period stamped in their passport and cannot be renewed.

Share On:twitter facebook google+ linkedin or use the Permalink

One Champion Way
Canonsburg, PA 15317-5824
Toll Free
General Information
Quality Services